W Platform - CO2 Winery

Solutions for capturing and reusing fermentative CO2 in wineries to optimize environmental footprint
Our elders
Bordeaux Incubator

Presentation

CO2 Winery is a range of solutions designed to capture the fermentative CO2 naturally emitted during wine fermentation in the winery.

Once this CO2 has been recovered, the CO2 Box purifies and compresses it, then stores it so that winegrowers can use it at will, in the form of gas, dry ice or carbo ice, without having to buy it externally. We are part of a circular economy.

In addition to the usual uses of CO2 in wineries, we also offer new uses for CO2, with solutions such as CO2 water, which reduces water consumption in the winery by over 50% for tank cleaning and rinsing operations.

The CO2 vinif solutionoptimizes the extraction process during vinification, while limiting the energy and water consumption normally required by traditional pumping-over processes.

Finally, we are working on the development of a new "Less Alco" solution that will enable us to reduce the alcohol content of wines by a few degrees, naturally, with very low energy consumption and no inputs. In 2023, we worked with the ISVV (Institut Scientifique de la Vigne et du Vin) to carry out tests that confirmed the hypotheses put forward regarding the ability to simply reduce this alcohol content using the process patented by Jean philippe Ricard, Process Chemistry Engineer and co-founder of CO2 Winery.

Today, CO2 winery solutions have been tested on a number of estates, from prestigious châteaux such as Château Latour, to family estates in the Bordeaux Supérieur appellation, such as Château Peychaud, and cooperative wineries such as Caves de la Loire.

The company has received assistance from the Nouvelle Aquitaine region, and is preparing to raise funds by the end of 2023.

Follow them!

The founders

Jean-Philippe Ricard
Technical and Innovation Director
Matthieu PLANTE
Sales and Marketing Director

W Platform – CO2 Winery

Solutions pour capter et réutiliser le CO2 fermentaire au sein des Chais pour optimiser l'empreinte environnementale
Nos Anciens
Incubateur de Bordeaux

Présentation

CO2 Winery est un ensemble de solutions qui permettent de capter le CO2 fermentaire qui est émis naturellement lors de la fermentation des vins au sein des chais.

Une fois ce CO2 récupéré la CO2 Box permet de le purifier et de le comprimer puis de le stocker pour que les viticulteurs puissent en disposer à volonté, sous forme de gaz, de neige carbonique ou de carbo glace sans avoir à en acheter en externe. Nous nous inscrivons dans une logique d’économie circulaire.

En plus de ces usages habituels du CO2 au sein des chais, nous proposons également de nouveaux usages du CO2, avec des solutions comme CO2 water qui permet une réduction de plus de 50% de la consommation d’eau au chai sur des opérations de nettoyage et de rinçage de cuves.

La solution CO2 vinif permet elle d’optimiser le processus d’extraction durant la vinification tout en limitant la consommation d’énergie et l’usage d’eau normalement nécessaire avec le processus de remontage traditionnel avec des pompes.

Enfin, nous travaillons sur le développement d’une nouvelle solution « Less Alco » qui va permettre de réduire de quelques degrés le taux d’alcool des vins et cela naturellement, avec une consommation énergétique très faible et sans intrant. Nous avons travaillé en 2023 avec l’ISVV (Institut Scientifique de la Vigne et du Vin) pour réaliser des tests qui confortent les hypothèses émises sur la capacité à réduire simplement ce taux d’alcool grâce au procédé breveté par Jean philippe Ricard, Ingénieur en chimie des procédés, co-fondateur de CO2 Winery.

Aujourd’hui les solutions CO2 winery ont été testées avec la collaboration de plusieurs propriétés que ce soit des châteaux prestigieux, comme le Château Latour, ou des propriétés familiales en appellation Bordeaux Supérieur, comme le Château Peychaud, ou encore des caves coopératives comme les Caves de la Loire.

La société a bénéficié d’une aide de la région Nouvelle Aquitaine, et prépare une levée de fonds pour la fin de l’année 2023.

Suivez-les !

Les fondateurs

Jean-Philippe Ricard
Directeur Technique et Innovation
Matthieu PLANTE
Directeur Commercial et Marketing

Voir plus de startups…